Engine too good to be true?

Did the Flax devs work on this engine for a while before showing it to the public or did they get some starting capital?

I’ve looked at a lot of engines for 3D game dev. Flax seems way too advanced when I compare development timelines with other engines (mainly Godot). I know it probably has some issues, just like every other engine, but right now this ticks so many boxes it gets me suspicious :smiley:. Maybe I am just paranoid?

I am not looking to start an engine war, I’m just baffled how this comes out of seemingly nowhere.

Any thoughts on this? Would be much appreciated!

I recently found Flax myself. I have no specific knowledge about the development behind it, however being an experienced game developer I have made several game engines from scratch in the past for various commercial game projects.

Very impressed with Flax so far, and I think the real magic behind such a feat is simply a dedicated, talented small and efficient team who are already familiar with existing engines and refine upon their experience with them. In the game companies I worked, we often put a tiny team in charge of a major part of the engine, as it is just so much faster than dealing with all the communication and overhead necessary in a large organization.

The typical Scrum framework many companies use these days tends to kill productivity, and being able to bypass it is super important to pull something like this off with few resources. But needs very talented and self motivated people, it is not for everyone. I would in fact say, it is not for most of todays developers.