How to use custom Json data in Visual Script?

Hi, I’m new to Flax, previously using Unity. I’m playing around a bit with custom Json Assets in Visual Script and trying to use them similar to Unity Scriptable Objects.

I tried to replicate this code (something similar) from the ThirdPersonShooter sample in Visual Script, but it seems that this cannot be done in Visual Script.

How to use data from custom Json Asset in Visual Script?

Hello,
never used unity, but with flax engine you can use these two nodes: CreateInstance (from JsonAsset) and CastValue (from Tools).

Here are a couple of images

1 Like

A couple of notes while I was testing it, in case any flax devs can provide some information

• Example working with Flax compiled from source today, but flax installed 2 o 3 days ago from laucher i get some native assertion failed error in CastValue node
  • The node Identity (in Quaternion) produces an error
[Error] Missing field 'Identity' in type 'FlaxEngine.Quaternion'
[Error] Visual Script stack trace:
[Error] at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node 1048583
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node 262170
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node FlaxEngine.Actor.set_Transform()
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node 1114116
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node Set _timeToFire
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node 1114113
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node FlaxEngine.Input.GetAction()
    at VS_Weapon:e5573c724bd4efa4a69262b8a15df185 in node OnUpdate()

It’s very intresting. I have a question.

How do I set the _data parameter to null?
When I created a _data parameter with type JsonAsset, it was not possible to connect the output from Cast Value node to Set _data node.