Seeking Advice on Optimizing Game Performance with Flax Engine

Hey everyone,

I have recently started working on a small indie game using Flax, and I am really loving the engine so far. However, I have noticed that my game’s performance starts to dip when I add more complex assets and animations. However I have configured feature using Generative AI. I am still relatively new to optimizing games, so I’m hoping to get some advice from the community.

What are some best practices or tips you all recommend for optimizing performance in Flax? I’ve tried reducing poly count and tweaking some LODs, but it still feels a bit sluggish at times. Are there any specific tools or settings in Flax that I should be paying more attention to? I have done a bit of research and found these articles How can I speed up the engine? Generative AI Interview Questions useful but would love some guidance from the experts here.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Smith

Have you used a profiler to figure out what is causing performance hiccups?

Just an FYI, rendering has been improved for the future 1.9 update.

Here are some tips that will apply to any real time rendering engine. Flax is no exception even though it is very fast. No TLDR…take your time. It is an easy read.

• Obviously, use the profiler to see what is taking the large clumps of time. The issue with the profiler is that if you design/build improperly it will not magically fix that. You know where to look but what is the solution? To make better use of the profiler you need to do some better foundational things…I explain more below.