How to use the foliage shading mode?

The foliage shading mode says it supports light transport through the object. I want to use this on tree leaves.

How do I achieve the impression of different thickness in the leaves (veins, irregularities)? Basically this: Chapter 16. Vegetation Procedural Animation and | NVIDIA Developer Section 16.2

So far I’ve tried connecting my translucency color texture to the subsurface color input but whenever I look through the leaves towards the sun, there seems to be no effect of any sort of back lighting. Im new to the advanced foliage stuff and Flax so what am I doing wrong?

I went a different direction since I have no need of actually viewing through the leaves but the effect ends up similar. What you are trying to do needs 2 Sided materials/meshes to do properly. You can also use this method for other things that have some translucency during bright lighting. Smoke and Mirrors sure but is that not what we are doing is almost all smoke and mirrors?

The following should get you what you need. This method also works with any game/rendering engine (very portable). Most of this is good texture prep. The benefit here is excellent performance improvements because of not using heavy materials (if available) for things that will be heavily used in the scene (grass, plants, trees…etc). Trees will use 2 materials…Bark and Leaf. So save where you can.

I don’t remember if Flax Materials even has a 2 Sided option. I did a quick documentation check and it has not changed and not available.